Reference sources provide general information about a subject and include materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions. Often, a reference source will give a summary of key ideas and developments in the literature on a topic and will include a bibliography for further reading. These sources can be an excellent starting point for understanding a topic and a launching point for more in-depth research.
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders by
An authoritative overview of language and speech disorders, featuring new and updated chapters written by leading specialists from across the field The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, provides timely and authoritative coverage of current issues, foundational principles, and new research directions within the study of communication disorders. Building upon the reputation of the landmark first edition, this volume offers an exceptionally broad and in-depth survey of the field, presenting original chapters by internationally recognized specialists that examine an array of language, speech, and cognitive disorders and discuss the most crucial aspects of this evolving discipline while providing practical information on analytical methods and assessment. Now in its second edition, the Handbook features extensively revised and refocused content throughout, reflecting the latest advances in the field. Original and updated chapters explore diverse topics including literacy and literacy impairments, patterns of normal and disordered language development, hearing impairment and cochlear implants, language acquisition and language delay, dementia, dysarthria, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, and many others. This acclaimed single-volume reference resource: Provides 26 original chapters which describe the latest in new research and which indicate future research directions Covers new developments in research since the original publication of the first edition Features in-depth coverage of the major disorders of language and speech, including new insights on perception, hearing impairment, literacy, and genetic syndromes Includes a series of foundational chapters covering a variety of important general principles, including labelling, diversity, intelligibility, assessment, and intervention The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, is essential reading for researchers, scholars, and students in speech and language pathology, speech, language and hearing sciences, and clinical llinguistics, as well as active practitioners and clinicians.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by
A major new reference work with entries covering the entire field of communication and speech disorders. A massive reference work on the scale of MITECS (The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Sciences), The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders will become the standard reference in this field for both research and clinical use. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic. Because the approach to communication disorders can be quite different for children and adults, many topics include separate entries reflecting this. Although some disorders that are first diagnosed in childhood may persist in some form throughout adulthood, many disorders can have an onset in either childhood or adulthood, and the timing of onset can have many implications for both assessment and intervention. Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children's speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
Citing reference works in APA format (7th edition) is much like citing a chapter in an edited book. For more information on citations, see Purdue OWL's guide to APA Format.
For reference sources that have individual authors for each entry or chapter, the basic format is:
Print: Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of entry. In C. D. Lastname (ed.), Name of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher.
Electronic: Lastname, E. F. (Year). Title of entry. In G. H. Lastname (ed.), Name of reference work (edition). Publisher. URL or DOI
For reference sources that have a group or organization as the author, the basic format is:
To search for other reference works that are online or available through OhioLINK, start your search here. Try searching by keyword using your topic or subject area and "dictionary" or "encyclopedia."
Use the Thorne Library's online catalog to find other reference works. Try searching by keyword using your topic or subject area and "dictionary" or "encyclopedia."
Library Online Catalog
