Reference sources provide general information about a subject and include materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions. Often, a reference source will give a summary of key ideas and developments in the literature on a topic and will include a bibliography for further reading. These sources can be an excellent starting point for understanding a topic and a launching point for more in-depth research.
Global Wesleyan Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology by Robert Branson
New Dictionary of Theology by Martin Davie; Tim Grass; Stephen R. Holmes (Editor); John McDowell (Editor); T. A. Noble (Editor); David Emmanuel Singh (Consultant Editor); Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Consultant Editor)
Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness; Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor);
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms by Donald McKim
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics by James F. Childress (Editor, Preface by); John Macquarrie (Editor)
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels (2nd Edn) by Joel B. Green; Jeannine K. Brown (Associate Editor); Nicholas Perrin (Associate Editor)
Dictionary of New Testament Background (2nd Edn) by Craig A. Evans (Editor); Stanley E. Porter (Editor)
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Daniel G. Reid (Editor); Ralph P. Martin (Editor); Gerald F. Hawthorne (Editor)
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Ralph P. Martin (Editor); Peter H. Davids (Editor)
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Bill T. Arnold; H. G. M. Williamson (Editor)
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Mark J. Boda (Editor); J. Gordon McConville (Editor)
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, and Writings by Tremper Longman (Editor); Peter Enns (Editor)
Dictionary of Feminist Theologies by Letty M. Russell (Editor); J. Shannon Clarkson (Editor)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology by Wolfgang Vondey
Research on Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity has increased dramatically in recent decades, and a diverse array of disciplines have begun to address a range of elements of these movements. Yet, there exists very little understanding of Pentecostal theology, and it is not uncommon to encounter stereotypes and misperceptions. Addressing this gap in current research, The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology is an exceptional reference source to the key topics, challenges, and debates in this growing field of study and is the first collection of its kind to offer a comprehensive presentation and critical discussion of this subject. Comprising over forty chapters written by a team of international contributors, the Handbook is divided into five parts: Contextualizing Pentecostal Theology Sources Theological Method Doctrines and Practices Conversations and Challenges. These sections take the reader through a comprehensive introduction to what Pentecostals believe and how they practice their faith. Looking at issues such as the core teachings of Pentecostalism concerning Spirit baptism, divine healing, or eschatology; unique practices, such as spiritual warfare and worship; and less discussed issues, such as social justice and gender, each chapter builds towards a nuanced and global picture of the theology of the Pentecostal movement. The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology is essential reading for students and researchers in Pentecostal Studies, World Christianity, and Theology as well as scholars working in contemporary Religious Studies.
Historical Dictionary of the Holiness Movement by William Kostlevy (Editor)
The Routledge Companion to the Christian Church by Gerard Mannion (Editor); Lewis S. Mudge (Editor)
The Cambridge Companion to Feminist Theology by Susan Franks Parsons (Editor)
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by Stanley E. PorterTo search for other reference works that are online or available through OhioLINK, start your search here. Try searching by keyword using your topic or subject area and "dictionary" or "encyclopedia."
Global Wesleyan Dictionary of Theology by Al Truesdale
Representing over 20 countries and numerous Wesleyan denominations, the Global Wesleyan Dictionary of Theology is a collaborative achievement of more than 100 Wesleyan scholars. Its global and denominational diversity is reflected in more than 360 articles encompassing a broad range of topics. Designed for clergy, laypersons, university students, and church teachers, this work is arranged for ease in cross-referencing and to assist in further study.From aesthetics to Zionism this dictionary provides definitions of major theological themes and, as appropriate, a Wesleyan assessment of each. It contains a comprehensive statement of Wesleyan theology and tradition, as set within the broader framework of classical Christian faith and practice. An outstanding resource, this book mirrors the global character of the church, highlighting throughout its wide-ranging coverage the theme of the church in mission.ReviewsI recommend this book for teachers and learners alike, whether one is a follower of the Methodist way or a curious interlocutor.-Amy Laura Hall, Associate Professor, Duke UniversityThis remarkable book will compel many thoughtful readers throughout the world to look afresh at their own understanding of ministry and spirituality. The book has both insight and foresight.-Beauty R. Maenzanise, Dean, Faculty of Theology, Africa University
Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness; Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)
Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by Ian A. McFarland (Editor); Karen Kilby (Editor); Iain R. Torrance (Editor); David A. S. Fergusson (Editor)
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by Walter A. Elwell (Editor)
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
Global Wesleyan Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology by Robert Branson
Written from a Wesleyan perspective by a formidable cadre of biblical scholars, the Global Wesleyan Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology covers a wide range of biblical theological topics. Truly international in scope, entries on African, Asian, and Caribbean hermeneutics complement entries on the afterlife, biblical ethics, and Deuteronomic theology. Helpful resource lists and cross references round out most entries, making this book an essential addition to the library of anyone wanting to delve deeply into the theological thought world of the Bible.
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament by Daniel G. Reid (Editor)
The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament offers a selection of key articles from four award-winning IVP New Testament dictionaries: Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels Dictionary of Paul and His Letters Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments Dictionary of New Testament Background Made with students primarily in mind, this one-volume dictionary edited by Daniel G. Reid offers the most important articles from the four New Testament dictionaries in a more succinct and accessible form. More than 130 articles are included, covering New Testament books, theological topics, historical events, background topics and methods of study. Also featured are maps, charts and tables, a glossary of terms, essential bibliographies, a Scripture index, and cross-references to the full-sized New Testament dictionaries.Here is a versatile, convenient and focused text that can both supplement other New Testament introductions and stand alone as a resource on the New Testament and its interpretation.
The Oxford Handbook of Evangelical Theology by Gerald McDermott (Editor)
Evangelical theology is a burgeoning field. Evangelicals have been growing in numbers and prominence worldwide, and the rise to academic prominence of evangelical historians, scripture scholars, ethicists, and theologians - many of whom have changed the face of their disciplines - hasdemonstrated the growing maturity of this movement's intellectual leaders. This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. Each chapter has been written by a theologian or scholar who is widely recognized for his or her published work and isconsidered a leading thinker on that particular topic. The authors critically assess the state of the question, from both classical and evangelical traditions, and propose a future direction for evangelical thinking on the subject.
Use the Thorne Library's online catalog to find other reference works. Try searching by keyword using your topic or subject area and "dictionary" or "encyclopedia."
Library Online Catalog