In order to log in to your library account, you will need:
Name: (only your last name is necessary)
University ID: (if your ID number starts with a zero, drop the zero . E.g. 041111 would become 41111)
Contact us!
(740) 397-9000 ex.4240
Library hours:
Monday: 7:30am-11:00pm
Tuesday: 7:30am-11:00pm
Wednesday: 7:30am-11:00pm
Thursday: 7:30am-11:00pm
Friday: 7:30am-8:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am-6:00pm
Sunday: 3:00pm-11:00pm
The Oxford Bible Commentary
by
John Barton (Editor); John Muddiman (Editor)
The Oxford Bible Commentary is a completely new Bible study and reference work for 21st century students and readers. It offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars. It provides everything any reader needs to understand the text of theBible. From its inception, OBC has been designed as a completely non-denominational commentary; contributors have been chosen from every faith and none. The OBC will enlighten readers with no religious background, as well as Jewish readers and those from all Christian traditions - Protestant,Catholic, Anglican, and Orthodox. Written for all readers, expert and novice The OBC has been carefully written and edited to provide the best scholarship in a readable style, Details are not introduced for their own sake but to make the explicaton clearer and to bring insights from various criticalapproaches to clarify the meaning of the text. A commentary on the Bible in its entirety The OBC includes comment on all the books recognized as canonical in Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox Churches, as well as those books regarded as Apocryphal in the Anglican tradition, and extracts of booksfound only in the Ethiopic or Coptic canons. Written by a team of 70 respected biblical scholars from all over the world The OBC contributors include scholars from Jewish, Catholic, Anglican, Protestant, and Orthodox traditions. The best combination of scholarly approaches for each individual bookThe OBC uses the traditional historical-critical method to search for the original meaning of the texts, but also brings in new perspectives and insights - literary, sociological, and cultural - to bring out the expanding meanings of these ancient writings. Everything you need There is a fullBibliographical Guide to Biblical Studies providing a much-needed up-to-date reference guide to key works, and there are bibliographies contained in each article. An index to the introductory articles is provided, whilst the commentaries themselves can be accessed through the use of any standardconcordance. OBC also contains 11 full-colour maps. A resource that can be read with any modern version of the Bible. The perfect reference work for a multitude of needs The OBC serves readers wishing to explore the religious, cultural, and historical significance of the Bible; students looking foran authoritative but accessible introduction to the scholarly issues involved in understanding the biblical text; and professionals, clergy or lay peoole, who teach or preach. Offering greater insight into the meaning of this complex and many-faceted work, the OBC brings this ancient text alive fora new generation in the third millennium. 'Our aim has been to make a commentary that would provide everything the 21st-century reader requires to engage quickly and immediately with the text. Of primary importance has been finding the best approach. In the Oxford Bible Commentary the traditionalhistorical-critical method in Biblical studies sits alongside other ways of reading which bring their own rewards. We have not abandoned the search for the original meaning, but have given individual contributors freedom to explore for the modern reader new perspectives and insights into theevolving meaning of the Biblical text. We hope that a wide readership will be helped by the Commentary. From those who seek a clearer perespective on a text which they hold in reverence - pastors preparing sermons, those reading the Bible together in study or discussion groups or in privatemeditation - to readers for whom the Bible is a highly significanct document from the ancient world and a major classic of world literature- each should discover a clearer understanding of this complex and many-faceted work. If it also stimulates plenty of discussion and further enquiry, we willconsider our job of editing this 21st-century commentary well done.'
Genesis
by
Walter Brueggemann
In his clear and readable, style Walter Brueggemann presents Genesis as a single book set within the context of the whole of biblical revelation. He sees his task as bringing the text close to the faith and ministry of the church. He interprets Genesis as a proclamation of God's decisive dealing with creation rather than as history of myth. Brueggemann's impressive perspective illuminates the study of the first book of the Bible. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Genesis 1-11
by
Joseph Coleson
Called the Primeval Prologue because much of it is about the time before the flood, Genesis 1-11 is considered foundational for biblical theology. The creation, the fall, the flood, the building of the Tower of Babel--these events and others set the stage for the rest of God's redemptive story. Readers of this New Beacon Bible Commentary will gain insight into the structural, literary, historical, and canonical features of these chapters. They will also delve deeply into such theological themes as God's uncreated existence, his love for humanity, and the essence of biblical holiness.Joseph Coleson, the author of this remarkable commentary, has produced an outstanding work of scholarship. Here again is another invaluable resource and additionto the NBBC collection.The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.
NBBC, Genesis 12-50
by
Alex Varughese; Christina Bohn
Exodus
Leviticus
Numbers
Deuteronomy
Joshua
Judges
Ruth, Esther, Song of Songs
1 & 2 Samuel
1 & 2 Kings
1 & 2 Chronicles
Ezra - Nehemiah
Job
Psalms
NBBC, Psalms 73-150
by
David Thompson; Alex Varughese; Barry L. Ross
Proverbs
Ecclesiastes/Lamentations
NBBC, Ecclesiastes / Lamentations
by
Stephen J. Bennett
Isaiah
Jeremiah
NBBC, Jeremiah 26-52
by
Alex Varughese; Mitchel Modine
Ezekiel
Daniel
Hosea - Micah
Nahum - Malachai
Matthew
by
Douglas R. A. Hare; Douglas Hare
This commentary proceeds unit by unit (not verse by verse) to emphasize what each passage of Matthew means to the author of the Gospel and to the modern church. Douglas Hare shows that the purpose of Matthew's writing is to convince Christians that a genuine faith in Christ must be demonstrated in daily obedience and that faith and ethics are two sides of the same coin. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Matthew
by
Robert S. Snow; Arseny Ermakov
Adeptly exploring the Gospel of Matthew as narrative, with attention given to underlying Old Testament influences, the authors of this New Beacon Bible Commentary highlight the Gospel's emphases on Christology, community, and the kingdom of heaven. Thoughtful, practical, and challenging, this commentary offers an outstanding examination of this first book of the New Testament.The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.
Mark
by
Lamar Williamson
In this volume, Lamar Williamson's commentary provides teachers, preachers, and all serious students of the Bible with an interpretation that takes serious hermeneutical responsibility for the contemporary meaning and significance of Mark's text. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Mark
by
Kent Brower
Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, cultural customs, and moreExpanded Bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themesConsidered the earliest of the New Testament Gospel of Mark announces the good news of the fulfilment of God's redemptive purposes in the life and ministry of Jesus. By gradually revealing the identity of Jesus as Messiah and Son of God, the narrative strips away any militaristic ideas popularly associated with messiahship. For Mark, the humiliation of the cross, with all its torture and horror, points to Jesus as a Messiah who gives his life on the cross and who calls his disciples to do likewise. In spite of the disciples' failures, which are unflinchingly displayed, the Gospel ends on the high note of hope found at the empty tomb.Kent Brower expertly delves into this Gospel, carefully reflecting on its literary and historiYNbeaCompletely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenien
Mark
by
Darrell Bock
This volume provides a comprehensive, accessible introduction to the Gospel of Mark, now widely considered the first recorded treatment of Jesus. Darrell Bock explains how this text, once the least-used gospel, came to be regarded as the starting point for understanding Jesus. Drawing together previous arguments and discussion in a constructive summary, he traces the significance of Mark and addresses key features such as its cultural and historical background, its narrative flow, and the role of Greek in supplying meaning. This commentary highlights the issues Mark's gospel raises and develops Mark's message surrounding Jesus' claims of kingdom authority and salvation, the call to disciples to follow him, and the preparation of those disciples to face suffering in light of their choice. Mark will be a valuable resource for students, teachers, and pastors alike.
Luke
by
Fred B. Craddock
Using Luke's own prologue as the guideline for his commentary, Fred B. Craddock calls attention to the continuities between Jesus and his heritage in Judaism and the church after him. Like Luke, Craddock assumes the reader is not only a believer but also a leader in the community of faith. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Luke 1-9
by
David Neale
The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, cultural customs, and moreExpanded Bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themesSince the author's name appears nowhere in its narrative, the Gospel is an anonymous work. The attribution to someone named Luke is a matteYNbeaThe New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid indiv
NBBC, Luke 9-24
by
David Neale
The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insights and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.David Neale continues this second volume of NBBC Luke by once more highlighting the unique features and contributions of this Gospel. Beginning where NBBC Luke 1-9 left off, this volume takes up Jesus' journey to Jerusalem, where the narrative proceeds to his crucifixion, resurrection, and ascension. As before, we hear again the timeless stories that are distinctly Luke's, such as the parable of the good Samaritan and the story of Zacchaeus. All throughout is the optimistic message that no matter the sin or failure, a person may freely choose to repent, be forgiven, and begin a new, holy life. This good news, moreover, is not exclusive; a second chance is offered to all, not only Jews but also Gentiles. For Neale, this optimism resonates with the hopeful and open message of Wesleyanism.As with Luke 1-9, Neale brings to Luke 9-24 his insightful scholarship and theological acumen, as well as a keen eye for practical application. This NBBC again is another wothy addition to any Christian's library.
John
NBBC, John 1-12
by
George Lyons; Laura Sweat Holmes
Acts
Romans
NBBC, Romans 1-8
by
George Lyons; William Greathouse
NBBC, Romans 9-16
by
George Lyons; William Greathouse
I and II Corinthians
Galatians
Ephesians, Colossians, and Philemon
by
Ralph P. Martin
In his commentary, Ralph Martin singles out two themes that are high on today's agenda of theological and practical inquiry and planning. These themes are the cosmic dimensions of Christological teaching and the role of the church as God's locus and agent of reconciliation. In this examination, the author allows Paul's voice to be heard again on these important themes.
NBBC, Ephesians/Colossians/Philemon
by
George Lyons; Robert W. Smith; Kara Lyons-Pardue
Associated closely for almost two millennia, the Pauline letters Ephesians, Colossians, and Philemon share many names, places, and situations. Each has its own theological emphasis and purpose, ranging from the Christological to the ecclesiological. Although the authors of this New Beacon Bible Commentary discuss matters of authorship, background, vocabulary, and literary style, they approach these writings as servants, always mindful of each letter's canonical authority as Christian Scripture and its inestimable value to the church. The rich scholarship and accessible composition of this volume make it a welcome addition to the NBBC family.The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original language
Philippians
Thessalonians
First and Second Thessalonians
by
Beverly Roberts Gaventa
First and Second Timothy and Titus
by
Thomas C. Oden
Thomas Oden provides a modern commentary on the pastoral letters grounded in the classical, consensual tradition of interpretation. Oden uses the best and most accurate research concerning the historical, literary, and philological aspects of the pastoral letters. He addresses tough issues: the role of women in worship, problems of the rich and poor, the relation between servants and masters, policies concerning support of elderly widows, and how to handle church disruptions.
NBBC, 1 and 2 Timothy/Titus
by
David A. Ackerman
Scholars have long debated over the authorship and significance of the Pastoral Epistles-1 and 2 Timothy and Titus. From authorship by Paul himself to authorship by persons unknown writing in the spirit of Paul, the range of scholarly opinion is wide and varied. David Ackerman sifts through these differences and emerges with a well-informed perspective of his own. He expertly takes the reader beyond the debate to the timeless and transgenerational message of these canonical treasures.As with all New Beacon Bible Commentaries, this volume includes not only the helpful critical resources intrinsic to every commentary but also the skilled insights of an expert biblical interpreter.Engaging, perceptive, and academically thorough, the New Beacon Bible Commentary will expand your understanding and deepen your appreciation of the meaning and message of each book of the Bible.Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, this indispensable commentary provides pastors, professional scholars, teachers, and Bible students with a critical, relevant, and inspiring interpretation of the Word of God in the 21st century.
Hebrews
by
Thomas G. Long
Hebrews is a sermon from the early Christian church that addresses a real, urgent, and still relevant pastoral problem: a struggling congregation that may not keep the faith. Thomas Long shows how Hebrews exhorts the church to face its challenges and hold true, even into the twenty-first century. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Hebrews
by
Kevin L. Anderson
Sophisticated and compelling, the book of Hebrews challenges its readers to an unwavering commitment to Christ. The anonymous writer of this intriguing book skillfully draws upon the Old Testament and, with rhetorical finesse, reaches out to a struggling community with the message of Christ's magnificence and the call to radical devotion.NBBC author Kevin Anderson not only highlights and carefully explores the major themes of Hebrews but also adeptly addresses its authorship, date, and context. As with all NBBCs, this volume is marked with sound scholarship and application. It is a valuable resource for pastors, teachers, students, and laypeople. The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Clear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meaningsYNbeaSophisticated and compelling, the book of Hebrews challenges its rea
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude
by
Pheme Perkins
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude have existed on the edges of the canon throughout the centuries. In this volume in the Interpretation series, Pheme Perkins casts light on these often neglected writings. She ably demonstrates that these "catholic epistles" have, in fact, much to offer to today's readers.
NBBC, James
by
C. Jeanne Orjala Serrao
The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, cultural customs, and moreExpanded Bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themesThe book of James is full of advice on how Christians should live. Thus, some say it contradicts Paul's Gospel of grace and faith, and theyYNbeaThe New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid indiv
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude
by
Pheme Perkins
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude have existed on the edges of the canon throughout the centuries. In this volume in the Interpretation series, Pheme Perkins casts light on these often neglected writings. She ably demonstrates that these "catholic epistles" have, in fact, much to offer to today's readers.
First, Second, and Third John
by
D. Moody Smith
This careful and thoughtful book unlocks the door to the theological and ethical treasures contained in the Epistles of John. It is an invitation to a journey of discovery, from the well-known and familiar to the less familiar but rewarding.
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude
by
Pheme Perkins
First and Second Peter, James, and Jude have existed on the edges of the canon throughout the centuries. In this volume in the Interpretation series, Pheme Perkins casts light on these often neglected writings. She ably demonstrates that these "catholic epistles" have, in fact, much to offer to today's readers.
Revelation
by
M. Eugene Boring
Throughout the history of Christianity, the book of Revelation has had an enormous influence in religion, history, and culture, and it still has an urgently needed message for the church. M. Eugene Boring's critical assessment of Revelation enlightens readers as to just what that message is. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
NBBC, Revelation
by
Carol Rotz
The New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in every walk of life in the study and meditation of God's Word. Written from the Wesleyan theological perspective, it offers insight and perceptive scholarship to help you unlock the deeper truths of Scripture and garner an awareness of the history, culture, and context attributed to each book of study. Readable, relevant, and academically thorough, it offers scholars, pastors, and laity a new standard for understanding and interpreting the Bible in the 21st century.Each volume features:Completely New Scholarship from notable experts in the Wesleyan traditionConvenient Introductory Material for each book of the Bible including information on authorship, date, history, audience, sociological/cultural issues, purpose, literary features, theological themes, hermeneutical issues, and moreClear Verse-by-Verse Explanations, which offer a contemporary, Wesleyan-based understanding derived from the passage's original languageComprehensive Annotation divided into three sections, which cover background elements behind the text; verse-by-verse details and meanings found in the text; and significance, relevance, intertextuality, and application from the textHelpful Sidebars, which provide deeper insight into theological issues, word meanings, archeological connections, historical relevance, cultural customs, and moreExpanded Bibliography for further study of historical elements, additional interpretations, and theological themesThroughout its history, Revelation has suffered misinterpretations from allegory to literal manipulations including the development of specYNbeaThe New Beacon Bible Commentary is an engaging, indispensable reference tool to aid individuals in
Can't find what you need? Let us help!
Simply email the library (library@mvnu.edu) with information about the resource you need, and a librarian will try to find it for you.
Citing a biblical commentary in Chicago (CMoS)/Turabian (Notes-Bib) style is much like a book in a series. For more information on citations, see Purdue OWL's guide to Chicago Format.
The basic format is:
Note: 1. First Name Last Name, Title, ed. First Name Last Name, Series Name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number..
Bibliography: Last Name, First Name. Title. Edited by First Name Last Name. Series Name. Publisher Place: Publisher, Publication Year.
Examples:
Note: 1. Peter Enns, Exodus, The NIV Application Commentary Series (Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2000), 126.
Bibliography: Enns, Peter. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2000.
