Reference sources provide general information about a subject and include materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions. Often, a reference source will give a summary of key ideas and developments in the literature on a topic and will include a bibliography for further reading. These sources can be an excellent starting point for understanding a topic and a launching point for more in-depth research.
A Dictionary of Nonprofit Terms and Concepts
by
The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook
by
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management
by
The Palgrave Handbook of Volunteering, Civic Participation, and Nonprofit Associations
by
The Nonprofit Handbook: Management
by
The Nonprofit Handbook
by
Citing reference works in APA format (7th edition) is much like citing a chapter in an edited book. For more information on citations, see Purdue OWL's guide to APA Format.
For reference sources that have individual authors for each entry or chapter, the basic format is:
Print: Lastname, A. B. (Year). Title of entry. In C. D. Lastname (ed.), Name of reference work (edition, page numbers). Publisher.
Electronic: Lastname, E. F. (Year). Title of entry. In G. H. Lastname (ed.), Name of reference work (edition). Publisher. URL or DOI
For reference sources that have a group or organization as the author, the basic format is:
Use the Thorne Library's online catalog to find other books. Try searching by subject using the term "Nonprofit organizations -- management".
Library Online Catalog
You can also search the OhioLINK consortium catalog to locate books and request beyond what is available at Thorne Library. Try searching by subject for "Nonprofit organizations -- management".
OHIOLINK Library Catalog