LibGuides: Art &amp; Design: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

The most current scholarship and information will often be found in articles from periodicals. The databases listed below can help you find scholarly articles and articles that are intended for a popular or consumer audience (see below the database list for more information regarding the differences between these types of articles), depending on your need. In addition, this guide also highlights several relevant scholarly journals appropriate to this subject area.

Subject-Specific Databases

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Art Full Text offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.
Art Index Retrospecive (H.W. Wilson)
Art Index Retrospective provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Index and abstracts for articles in art.

Online Journals

Journal of Visual Culture
Sage Publishing
ISSN: 1470-4129, 1741-2994
2002 - 2021
Art History
Blackwell Publishing
ISSN: 0141-6790, 1467-8365
1997 - Present
Oxford Art Journal
Oxford University Press
ISSN: 0142-6540;1741-7287
2004 - 2021

Recommended General Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
The Electronic Journal Center includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Full text of 10000+ research journals.

Filtering Search Results

On the search results page, you can limit and filter search results. Select to filter results to those that have a link to the full text and are from scholarly (peer reviewed) publications. In addition, consider narrowing the publication date to within the last 5-10 years.

Types of Journal Articles

While there are numerous kinds of periodical literature, it is important to distinguish between two key categories: scholarly and popular.

Scholarly Articles	Popular Articles
Found in journals that are referred to as scholarly, academic, refereed, or peer-reviewed Undergo peer-review--a rigorous process of review by experts in the field who evaluate the article for its accuracy, contribution to the field, and the quality of its scholarship (e.g., the design of the research conducted, the strength of the theoretical assumptions) Typically written by scholars, researchers, and academics who are experts in the field Often reporting original research or theoretical frameworks; though articles reviewing and systematizing other scholarship also factor significantly Provide citations for scholarship referenced	Found in publications such as magazines and news sources Undergo review by an editor or editorial staff at the publication Typically written by journalists who are not experts in the field Usually report on ideas from others rather than original research Do not typically provide citations

Scholarly Articles

Art & Design: Journal Articles